Ensemble Mirage

Ensemble Mirage Website-


Ensemble Mirage is a dynamic flexi-ensemble enabling exploration and programming of the whole range of Clarinet-String-Piano chamber music; from duos to octets and above. They are delighted to be selected for the 2016/17 St John’s Smith Square Young Artists’ Scheme during which they will present an exciting and emotive series of concerts for a variety of flexes alongside newly commissioned works.

Ensemble Mirage evolved from the award winning ensemble Trio Mirage which formed in early 2014; with clarinettist Matthew Scott, violinist Julia Pusker and pianist Alexandra Vaduva. Having met earlier in their studies at the Royal Academy of Music, they began exploring the diverse range of repertoire their trio setting offered. They soon won the Academy‘s Harold Craxton Prize and were awarded a 2015/16 Chamber Music Fellowship; during which they are working with Academy composers to produce new works for the ensemble alongside chamber recitals.

To explore larger repertoire Trio Mirage began collaborating with other musicians, including violist Ugne Tiskute and cellist Tatiana Chernyshova. Through individual member recital schemes (Matthew, Countess of Munster Musical Trust Recital Scheme and Making Music AYCA; Ugne, Countess of Munster Musical Trust Recital Scheme; Julia, Making Music AYCA) they have performed at Music Societies and Festivals around the UK. Recent highlights include performances at The Lantern Colston Hall, The Two Moors Festival 2015, China Exchange and the Norfolk and Norwich Festival 2016.

Core Ensemble Members:

Matthew Scott (Clarinet)
Julia Pusker (Violin)
Ugne Tiskute (Viola)
Tatiana Chernyshova (Cello)
Alexandra Vaduva (Piano)

Additional collaborating artists as required for larger works – as the ensemble develops and grows

Additional Members:

Gareth Humphreys (Bassoon)
Timothy Ellis (French Horn)
Rose Hinton (Violin)
Emily Pond (Viola)
Hannah Turnbull (Double Bass)



Follow Matthew Scott